About the Commission

The House Communications Standards Commission is a six-person bipartisan commission whose primary functions include:

  1. Issuing regulations governing the proper use of the franking privilege and other official communications resources

  2. Providing advice and counsel to Members of Congress and House Committees about their mass communications by issuing Advisory Opinions

  3. Hearing formal complaints against Members who have allegedly violated franking regulations and law

The Commission’s regulations cover the content of official office communications distributed by the U.S. House of Representatives, and include, but not are limited to, postal mail, e-mail, handouts, SMS messages (and similar messaging methods), advertisements (including digital, newspaper, radio, and television), robo calls, and other paper-based, telecommunications-based, and digital communications.



Mary Scanlon
Mary Gay Scanlon
Pennsylvania - 05

Democratic Members

Brad Sherman
Brad Sherman
California - 30
Mondaire Jones
Mondaire Jones
New York - 17

Ranking Member

Kat Cammack
Kat Cammack
Florida - 03

Republican Members

Robert Latta
Robert E. Latta
Ohio - 05
Bryan Steil
Bryan Steil
Wisconsin - 01