Lofgren Statement on Senate Introduction of Freedom to Vote Act

Sep 14, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Committee on House Administration Chairperson Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.) issued the following statement today regarding the Senate introduction of the Freedom to Vote Act: 

“The Senate has now put forward important legislation to protect our freedom to vote by making sure voting options are equally accessible across all 50 states, reducing the scourge of dark money in our politics, and prohibiting partisan gerrymandering.  Republican-led state legislatures across the nation are rushing to enact anti-voter bills to deny Americans their freedom to vote and create deliberate barriers to the ballot.  I commend Majority Leader Schumer, Senator Manchin, Senator Klobuchar, Senator Merkley and the rest of the Senate working group for their efforts.  It is more urgent now than ever that the Senate move to swiftly pass the Freedom to Vote Act so that every voice is heard, and our elections reflect the will of the people.”

# # #


Congress Number: 
117th Congress