Lofgren Statement On Senate Republicans Filibustering S. 1, The For The People Act

Jun 22, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Committee on House Administration Chairperson Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.) issued the following statement today after Senate Republicans filibustered S.1, the most transformational and comprehensive suite of pro-democracy and anti-corruption reforms in a generation:

“The For the People Act aims to clean up corruption in Washington, empower the American people, and restore faith and integrity to our government.  It is deeply disappointing the minority party blocked debate on the most significant voting rights bill to reach the Senate floor in a generation. 

“Senate Democrats led by Majority Leader Schumer and Senator Manchin worked tirelessly to find common ground and compromise across the aisle, and I applaud them for their efforts.  Senators Klobuchar and Merkley advanced this bill to deliver democracy for all Americans while incorporating the feedback of Republican and Democratic state election officials and adopted amendments to address several concerns expressed by our Republican colleagues.

“Throughout our history, our nation has fought to advance justice.  Those efforts will continue as we work to deliver power back to the American people, lift barriers to the ballot box, and help ensure all Americans have a fair say in the issues that impact our lives.  Americans deserve elections determined by voters with unencumbered access to the ballot, not elections bought by billionaires.  They deserve public servants who work for the public interest with fortified ethics laws and congressional districts drawn by independent commissions.  And Americans deserve a return to commonsense accountability in our politics.  The For the People Act makes that promise of democracy real for us all.  House and Senate Democrats are united in our efforts to find a path forward to answer the call of an overwhelming majority of Democrats, Republicans, and Independents who support it.”

# # #

Congress Number: 
117th Congress