Bill extends FEC Administrative Fine Program

WASHINGTON - Committee on House Administration Chairman Bryan Steil (WI-01) applauds the passage of legislation to extend the Administrative Fine Program for certain reporting violations for an additional 10 years. This bill ensures the Federal Election Commission enforcement operations continue to run smoothly.

"By passing this common-sense election integrity bill, Congress can ensure the FEC is well equipped to provide more transparency for the American people,"said Chairman Steil. "This bill not only accomplishes the immediate goal of efficient campaign finance regulation, but it also aligns with the broader objectives of the American Confidence in Elections Act. I look forward to continuing our work to strengthen Americans' confidence in our elections."

Read the full bill here.


  • The Federal Election Commission, commonly referred to as the FEC, enforces federal law that requires political committees to file reports of receipts and disbursements by a certain date.
  • Under the Administrative Fine Program, the FEC can swiftly resolve infractions related to late-filed or unfiled reports, ensuring transparency and accountability.
  • That Administrative Fine Program was set to expire on December 31, 2023. The passage of this bill extended the Program for an additional 10 years, ensuring the FEC can expeditiously assess and enforce fines against campaign committees for their late-filed or unfiled reports.
  • Before the inception of the Administrative Fine Program, an average of 21 percent of campaign finance reports were filed late. Now, late filed reports are below 10 percent, and the agency has assessed over $9 million in fines.
  • This legislation was sponsored by Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Chair of the Senate Rules and Administration Committee, and Sen. Deb Fisher (R-NE), Ranking Member of that committee, and passed the Senate by voice vote.  The Committee on House Administration reported out by voice vote an identical measure, H.R. 5734, which was sponsored by Chairman Bryan Steil (R-WI01) and Ranking Member Joseph D. Morelle (D-NY25).